chariot stage

October 28, 2013

They locked him away from his self,
like he needed some help 
So I put on my belt, and I step in my shoes 
Outside of my heart, where nothing is felt 
He’s got no one to blame, with nothing to lose 
So I ease off the reigns, and the pain of abuse 
On this chariot stage, and the thundering hooves 
In this game of charades, in a quaint well-lit room 
Where the happenstance fades, to the sound of good news

Did you really think? did you contemplate? 
Was it all for real? or just a great escape 
Did you really think, that you knew my name 
Were you trusting still? amongst the screwed-up tape 

And as the days turn to seconds in your eyes 
Will we surmise the truth?
forgetting all the lies we used to hide 
Wise, will we disguise the proof? omitting all the tries
went through to keep ourselves in stride 

Chime in, you’ll know where to begin,
and it won’t be a sin, oh 
Take heart, and you’ll know where to start,
and you won’t fall apart, oh 

So I ease off the reigns, and the pain of abuse 
On this chariot stage, and the thundering hooves

Leave a Reply

